AFL: Sydney Swans Introduces Four Club Greats Into Hall Of Fame As Eight Others Become Champions
Tech Updates

AFL: Sydney Swans Introduces Four Club Greats Into Hall Of Fame As Eight Others Become Champions

Hard-hitting midfielder Daryn Cresswell joined the Sydney Swans royal family on Thursday evening, as he was one of four greats to be inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame at a position at Melbourne’s Grand Hyatt.

In addition to Cresswell taking the honors were Prime Ministers Peter Reville, Arthur “Poddy” Hiskins, and Tom Bushell, among South Melbourne’s top footballers in the late 1800s and early 1900s.

AFL: Sydney Swans Introduces Four Club Greats Into Hall Of Fame As Eight Others Become Champions

On a special night for the club, Tony Lockett, Roy Cazaly, Laurie Nash, Barry Round, Greg Williams, Gerard Healy, Michael O’Loughlin, and Brett Kirk have also crowned champions.

The Swans have introduced a new status to recognize those with outstanding achievements who have made significant contributions to the club but may not qualify for Legend status.

They have also made three additions to the club’s heritage list, headlined by superstar striker Lance Franklin’s incredible feat of kicking his 1000th career goal in Round 2 this season.

Camera IconSouth Melbourne footballer Roy Cazaly is one of the biggest names in VFL/AFL history. Credit: News Limited

Franklin’s extended an extraordinary run of great key-forwards in red and white, with his heroic goals prompting thousands of fans to sprint onto the SCG surface to celebrate with him.

Also recognized was Jared Crouch’s attempt to play 194 consecutive games from his 1998 debut, while the club’s best VFA team was unveiled.

The squad consisted of players who helped South Melbourne finish in the top four for 13 consecutive seasons from 1879, including winning five premierships.

Cresswell, who made the 1997 All-Australian team and was the 1994 Bob Skilton Medalist as Sydney Club Champion, played 244 games and scored 208 goals in a stellar career.

He was already named in the club’s team of the century and was a key member of the 1996 losing grand final.

Camera icon Daryn Cresswell will always be remembered for the time he propped his dislocated left knee back into place in 1997. Credit: News Corp Australia

Originally from Tasmania, Cresswell had many match-winning moments but will be forever remembered for putting his severely dislocated left knee back in place during his 100th match 25 years ago.

The now 51-year-old famously played the following week despite the injury.

“The ground was shifting, so I was wearing long stops, then I changed direction and popped… trouble,” Cresswell said many years later.

“My foot planted and got stuck, but my leg twisted, and my kneecap popped out… It was quite painful. I slapped it, and nothing happened; then I hit it hard four or five times, and it came back in.”

Reville scored 207 goals in 156 games as a brilliant half-forward, one of the best players in the 1933 flag alongside legendary forwards Bob Pratt and Nash.

Camera IconBarry Round has been one of the Swans’ greatest footballers and the official club champion since Thursday evening. Credit: News Corp Australia

Haskins, whose career was interrupted while serving in World War I, was an integral member of the 1909 premiership team on 185 appearances, including captain-coach in the 1920 season.

Bushell took five premierships in his 73 games from 1881-1892 and was twice the club’s leading goalkeeper as one of the best strikers of his time.


Roy CazalySwans Hall of Fame inductee 200999 games (1921-24 / 1926-27) Captain-coach 1922Club champion 1926

Laurie NashSwans Hall of Fame inductee 200999 games (1933-37 / 1945)Premiership 1933Swans Team of the Century

Barry RoundSwans Hall of Fame inductee 2009193 games (1976-85) Captain 1980-84Swans Team of the CenturyBrownlow Medal 1981

Tony Lockett

Swans Hall of Fame inducted 200998 games (1995-99/2002)Club Champion 1995462 Goals (leading goalkicker 1995-99)Coleman Medal 1996, 1998Swans Team of the Century.

Camera Icon Superstar centerman Greg Williams won one of his two Brownlow medals while playing for the Swans. Credit: News Corp Australia

Greg WilliamsSwans Hall of Fame inductee 2009107 games (1986-1991)Brownlow Medal 1986Swans Team of the Century

Gerard HealySwans Hall of Fame inductee 200981 games (1986-1990)Club Champion 1986, 1987, 1988Brownlow Medal 1988Swans Team of the Century

Michael O’Loughlin

Swans Hall of Fame inductee 2011303 games (1995-2009)521 goals (leading goalkicker 2000-2001)Club Champion 1998Premiership 2005

Brett KirkSwans Hall of Fame inductee 2011241 games (1999-2010)Club Champion 2005, 2007Co-Captain 2006-2010